Full Site Search  
Wed Jan 24, 2018 15:28:13 IST
PostPostPost Trn TipPost Trn TipPost Stn TipPost Stn TipAdvanced Search
What is SCRA - Special Class Railway Apprentices?  
1 Answers
Sep 20 2011 (19:37)

Entry# 754     
What is SCRA - Special Class Railway Apprentices?

Sep 20 2011 (19:36)
News Entry# 39274  SCRA - Special Class Railway Apprentices  
Posted by: rdb*^   Added by: rdb*^  Sep 20 2011 (19:37)
It was the year of 1927, when the programme called Special Class Railway Apprentices (SCRA) was introduced in India. Currently, this is the gateway for the students to the Indian Railways. Special Class Railway Apprentices is an entrance examination conducted by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC), New Delhi for the recruitment of applicants in Mechanical Engineering in the Indian Railways.The applicants who qualify in this test have a very bright future. The experience of being promoted to high level can be easily achieved. At the initial stage, the applicant will be recruited as an officer in the junior scale. After two years of experience, the applicant is posted as the Senior Scale. Since then there is no looking back. After a service of six to seven years, the applicant will be posted as Junior Administrative grade. And then, the series of promotion goes on as the service of an applicant...
towards the railways increases.
 UPSC SCRA Eligibility Conditions:
The applicants have to keep in mind the following conditions while applying for SCRA:
1. Age Limit
i. The applicant must be between the age of 17 years and 21 years. It means an applicant should have born between 02 – 08 – 1990 and 01 – 08 – 1994.
ii. Applicants belonging to SC / ST category have upper age limit maximum of 5 years.
iii. OBC candidates have maximum of three years as upper age limit
iv. From 01 – 01 – 1980 to 31 – 12 – 1989, any applicant who domiciled in Jammu & Kashmir can avail maximum of 5 years of upper age limit
v. Maximum three years for defence service personnel
vi. Five years for ECOs / SSCOs who have served five years in Military Service
vii. Applicants, who are blind, deaf, mute and orthopedically handicapped have ten years as maximum upper limit.
viii. For ex-serviceman maximum of five years
2. Nationality
i. Indian Citizen
ii. A subject of Nepal
iii. A subject of Bhutan
iv. A Tibetan refugee who came to India with a thought of settling here permanently before 01 – 01 – 1962.
v. Indian origin persons who have migrated from Burma, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, or East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, and Ethiopia or from Vietnam with a thought of settling in India permanently.
vi. Applicants who come under categories mentioned in point’s ii, iii, iv and v should provide the relevant certificate issued by the Government of India.
3. Educational Background
i. Applicant must have passed intermediate with first or second division or an equivalent examination of a university or Board approved by Government of India
ii. Should have mathematics and at least any one of the subjects Physics and Chemistry
iii. Must have cleared first year examination under three year degree course
iv. Must have passed in the 1st or 2nd division in the Pre engineering examination
v. Must have cleared first year of the five year engineering course
4. Physical standard
Applicants have to be physically fit as per the standards of the Special Class Railway Apprentices examination.
Scroll to Top
Scroll to Bottom

Go to Desktop site
Disclaimer: This website has NO affiliation with the Government-run site of Indian Railways. This site does NOT claim 100% accuracy of fast-changing Rail Information. YOU are responsible for independently confirming the validity of information through other sources.