Full Site Search  
Tue Jan 23, 2018 09:26:46 IST
PostPostPost Trn TipPost Trn TipPost Stn TipPost Stn TipAdvanced Search
What is the Jan Shatabdi Express? What are its characteristics?  
7 Answers
Aug 05 2011 (13:32)

Entry# 490     
Charm Totally Vanished*^~
What is the Jan Shatabdi Express? What are its characteristics?

Aug 05 2011 (10:40)
Blog Post# 215367-0     
ThE BoSs*^~   Added by: Charm Totally Vanished*^~  Aug 05 2011 (13:32)
Q. What is Jan Shatabdi Express/Train's??????
Ans. The Jan Shatabdi Express (literally "People's Shatabdi") is a more affordable variety of the Shatabdi Express, which has both AC and non-AC accommodation. The word 'Jan' refers to Janata (meaning 'people' in Hindi).
The Bhopal Jan Shatabdi was the first Jan Shatabdi of Central India, started operations on 2 January 2003 between Habibganj railway station of Bhopal, the capital city of Madhya Pradesh and Raipur, the capital of Chhattisgarh but was withdrawn due to poor passenger response between Bilaspur and Raipur though it received good passenger
response between Habibganj and Jabalpur. Thereon, the train journey was minimised till Jabalpur Junction.
The longest distance is covered by the Madagon Jan Shatabdi between Mumbai and Margao in Goa covering 765 km (475 mi) in 9 hours through the Konkan stretch. It is also the fastest jan shatabdi averaging above 80 km/h (50 mph).
The state of Kerala has two Jan Shatabdis from Trivandrum (Trivandrum Central) to Kozhikode(Calicut) on slightly different routes, one via coastal Alleppy and another via Kottayam.
Train No: 12075/12076 and 12082/12083 Jan Shatabdis from Thiruvananthapuram Central to Kozhikkode(Calicut) are the longest Janshatabdis each with 18 rakes pulled by WDM or WDP usually.
More About Janshatabdi Trains,
Janshatabdi Express trains by Indian Railways are a series of high speed trains. The fast moving trains connects various important cities of the country. There are several tourist places as well as business centres which passengers can reach easily via Janshatabdi Express trains. The Janshatabdi Express trains runs mainly during day time and returns back to the origin the every same day.
Below is the list of all Janshatabdi Express Trains:
05697 Lumding Lower Haflong Hill Queen Exp.
05698 Lower Haflong Lumding Hill Queen Exp.
12021 Howrah Barabil Janshatabdi Exp.
12022 Barabil Howrah Janshatabdi Exp.
12023 Howrah Patna Janshatabdi Exp.
12024 Patna Howrah Janshatabdi Exp.
12051 Mumbai Madgaon Janshatabdi Exp.
12052 Madgaon Mumbai Janshatabdi Exp.
12053 Haridwar Amritsar Janshatabdi Exp.
12054 Amritsar Haridwar Janshatabdi Exp.
12055 New Delhi Dehradun Janshatabdi Exp.
12056 Dehradun New Delhi Janshatabdi Exp.
12057 New Delhi Una Himachal Janshatabdi Exp.
12058 Una Himachal New Delhi Janshatabdi Exp.
12059 Kota H Nizamuddin Janshatabdi Exp.
12060 H Nizamuddin Kota Janshatabdi Exp.
12061 Habibganj Jabalpur Janshatabdi Exp.
12062 Jabalpur Habibganj Janshatabdi Exp.
12067 Guwahati Jorhat Town Janshatabdi Exp.
12068 Jorhat Town Guwahati Janshatabdi Exp.
12069 Raigarh Gondia Janshatabdi Exp.
12070 Gondia Raigarh Janshatabdi Exp.
12071 Mumbai Aurangabad Janshatabdi Exp.
12072 Aurangabad Mumbai Janshatabdi Exp.
12073 Howrah Bhubaneswar Janshatabdi Exp.
12074 Bhubaneswar Howrah Janshatabdi Exp.
12075 Kozhikode Trivandrum Janshatabdi Exp.
12076 Trivandrum Kozhikode Janshatabdi Exp.
12077 Chennai Vijayawada Janshatabdi Exp.
12078 Vijayawada Chennai Janshatabdi Exp.
12079 Bangalore Hubli Janshatabdi Exp.
12080 Hubli Bangalore Janshatabdi Exp.
12083 Mayiladuturai Coimbatore Janshatabdi Exp.
12084 Coimbatore Mayiladuturai Janshatabdi Exp.
12365 Patna Ranchi Janshatabdi Exp.
12366 Ranchi Patna Janshatabdi Exp.
13108 Kolkata Dhaca Cantt Maitree Express
13109 Dhaca Cantt Kolkata Maitree Express
And So On..........

Aug 05 2011 (12:13)
Blog Post# 215367-4     
PKV*^~   Added by: Charm Totally Vanished*^~  Aug 05 2011 (13:33)
@Rajkiran Randhawa ??? ?? ???? ???? ???? ??: Re# 215367-0
Thanks Rajkiran for both the write-up as well as the list. But some minor corrections.
>The first two trains whose numbers begin with 0 cannot be Jan Shatabdi Expresses and are more in the nature of SPECIAL TRAINS as their numbers suggest.
> The last two trains running between Kolkata and Dhaka
(Bangladesh) are also not Jan Shatabdi Expresses and do not feature in the list of Jan Shatabdi trains featuring on Page 65 of TAAG.
> The only omission in the list is 12081 Kozhikode-Thiruvanathapuram JS Exp and its pair 12082 Thiruvanathapuram-Kozhikode JS Exp.
That apart let me congragulate you for a job well done.

Aug 05 2011 (12:48)
Blog Post# 215367-5     
Guest: 7fc702bb   Added by: Charm Totally Vanished*^~  Aug 05 2011 (13:33)
@pkvenkatramani**: Re# 215367-4
Good morning sir.. It seems that TVC CLT is the only route having 2 different Jan Shatabdies in india..with ref to the starting and ending points.. Correct me if i am wrong :)

Aug 05 2011 (12:53)
Blog Post# 215367-6     
Gulshanrkp*^~   Added by: Charm Totally Vanished*^~  Aug 05 2011 (13:33)
@Rajkiran Randhawa ਜੱਟ ਨੀ ਮਾਦਾ ਆਦਤਾ ਖਰਾਬ ਹੈ: Re# 215367-0
What about "runs mainly during day time", is there any Janshatabdi for night?

Aug 05 2011 (12:55)
Blog Post# 215367-7     
Guest: 461a1325   Added by: Charm Totally Vanished*^~  Aug 05 2011 (13:34)
@gulshanrkp: Re# 215367-6
We have one super shatabdhi from PUNE-SC-PUNE which is supposed to complete the journey in day time. But adding more convenience to passengers, it makes the journey as Over night :P

Aug 05 2011 (13:19)
Blog Post# 215367-8     
PKV*^~   Added by: Charm Totally Vanished*^~  Aug 05 2011 (13:34)
@R◊₰ῌᾴῇ•₰**: Re# 215367-5
GA Roshan. You are right as far as JS is concerned. However, NDLS-Amritsar has 2 pairs of Shatabdis plying, one in the morning and another in the evening.

Aug 05 2011 (13:20)
Blog Post# 215367-9     
PKV*^~   Added by: Charm Totally Vanished*^~  Aug 05 2011 (13:34)
@Pradyu విశాఖపట్టణం**: Re# 215367-7
Inconveniently CONVENIENT by way of being regularly IRREGULAR, Pradyu :)
Scroll to Top
Scroll to Bottom

Go to Desktop site
Disclaimer: This website has NO affiliation with the Government-run site of Indian Railways. This site does NOT claim 100% accuracy of fast-changing Rail Information. YOU are responsible for independently confirming the validity of information through other sources.